Pasta with Burro e Salvia

If there was one dish that we ate more than all of the others in Piemonte, it had to be Tajarin with Butter and Sage, or Tajarin al Burro e Salvia. I’ve always loved pasta with butter, but I was blown away by how much I loved the simple addition of sage to the dish. Butter and sage is now my go to topping for pasta. Although I prefer homemade tajarin, good quality dried pasta is a decent substitute when in a hurry. Here is how I make it.

Ingredients:
Dried pasta
Butter, unsalted (2-3 tablespoons per serving)
Fresh sage, finely chopped (4-5 leaves per serving)
Grated parmesan cheese
Salt and pepper

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over high heat.  While the water is coming to a boil, melt the butter in a saute pan over medium heat. Be careful the butter does not brown. Once butter is melted, remove from heat and add the chopped sage.  Let the sage sit in the melted butter while you boil your pasta. Once the pasta is cooked to the desired consistency, drain and add to the melted butter and sage. Toss the pasta in the sauce and serve immediately.  Top with grated parmesan cheese and salt and pepper as desired.

 

4 thoughts on “Pasta with Burro e Salvia

  1. A simple yet delish dish and I always like to see people using Vermont Cultured butter….oh so good.

    You have a great concept for your blog, one that I’ll enjoy sharing with my wife who is an Italian girl from Queens. If you have a moment check out my site which combines sports, food, libations and more.

    Cheers!
    Jed

    • Thanks for the compliment, Jed. Please do share the blog with your wife. Hope she enjoys! I had a moment to check out your blog as well. A great concept as well. I will definitely keep tabs on it!

Leave a Reply

